Moving Forward

Traps for smolt counting is in the front of the picture. The traps are in the creek with trees, bushes and the sky behind it.

I want to personally thank everyone who has reached out to me and other Keta Legacy Foundation board members regarding the resolution of the final piece of the litigation with The Mountaineers on the use of the name “Mountaineers Foundation.” We know it has not been easy, but we always believed that if we could convince The Mountaineers to sit down and work with us on common-sense solutions, we could find agreement quickly.

To that end, we reached out again to The Mountaineers in September 2023 to renew our request to come to the negotiating table to trade ideas and find solutions that benefit the goals of both organizations. We can’t say it was an easy road, but we did it. We worked tirelessly, trading ideas and finding a middle ground on the final issue of the use of the Mountaineers Foundation name. Read more about these negotiations and final outcome here.

In addition, we worked out some new property boundaries at the Preserve and agreed to a process for executors to follow in order to determine which organization a bequest should go to. You can see more on this process on our website.

To everyone who offered feedback, shared their concerns, and stood with us as we worked to reach a good-faith agreement to avoid spending precious time and donor resources on litigation, you have my thanks. I think I speak for all of us when I say that we are grateful to be closing the final chapter of this book and looking ahead to a strong and renewed working relationship between the Foundation and The Mountaineers.

We are working on legally transitioning our name to Keta Legacy Foundation, a fitting name given the important role that chum salmon (Oncorhynchus keta) play in the ecological health and history of the Salish Sea region.

Thank you again for all your support over the past several months. I am happy to answer questions and welcome your feedback as we move ahead.

– Katha Miller-Winder, President